New Year’s Resolutions

Well, it’s that time of year!  The blogosphere is filled with everyone’s New Years Resolutions.  What better way to hold yourself accountable than to put it out there for the whole world to see!!  (Yep, just like my failed 12 Days of Craftmas series – which by the way, I will update you all on in a coming post…)

I’ve always been a chronic list maker.  I love writing down lists of things and then crossing off each one as I complete it.  I get some weird satisfaction out of making that single straight line through something, indicating that’s it’s done once and for all.  I’ve even been known to write down stuff I’ve already completed, just so I can cross it off (please tell me I’m not the only one that’s done that?!?!).

New Years Resolutions have always been tough for me.  Generally, they aren’t stated in a way that you can easily point to a concrete objective that can be crossed off when complete.  Things like “spend more time with family”, “exercise more”, or “improve outlook on life” are hard to quantify and determine if they’ve been achieved by year’s end.  I’m much more likely to actually follow through with my resolution if there are clear goals and objectives with quantifiable results (yep, there goes my engineer’s brain – always having to quantify things), such as “devote one night per week to family time” or “go to the gym twice a week”.  So here are my personal New Years Resolutions, in quantifiable form (mostly):

  • Learn to use my sewing machine
  • Make time for knitting (complete at least two new projects)
  • Complete my wedding album
  • Attempt to make a souffle
  • Learn to cook pork belly
  • Visit at least three new places in L.A. (be a tourist in my own city!)
  • Complete my first a 10k race
  • Complete my first triathlon
  • Make time for at least one backpacking trip

Okay, I had to add a couple fluffy, hard to check-off resolutions as well:

  • Keep in better touch with out-of-town friends
  • Focus on the positives and all the things I have to be thankful for
  • Be okay with sitting and doing nothing once in a while

So how is everyone doing with their New Year’s Resolutions so far?  Any failed attempts yet? (It has been five days already!).  Anyone else like to write down tasks just so they can cross them off?

Leave a Reply

