On the 2nd Day of Craft-mas…a Homemade Coupon Book

Last year, my husband and I decided that we wouldn’t get each other Christmas gifts.  We had just spent a ton of money on our wedding and honeymoon, and we were flying across the country to spend Christmas with my family (not a cheap plane ticket!).  But, I just couldn’t imagine not giving him something, especially since it was our first Christmas together as husband and wife (awwww….).  So I decided that if I spent essentially nothing, it would still adhere to the spirit of the no-gift agreement.

Earlier in the year, I had seen a lot of ideas for “coupon books” for Mother’s Day, which is where I got my inspiration (found here and here).

I figured that I could easily adapt the coupon book idea for my husband.  The only real costs would be for the paper and the printing.  And lucky for me, I had a bunch of leftover supplies from our wedding that I could use!  I actually used some leftover business cards that I had used to print our registry information and include with our wedding invitations.  These are the kind that I got: Avery Two-Side Printable Clean Edge Business Cards for Inkjet Printers 8876, Ivory, Matte, Pack of 200.  They are listed on the Avery website for $17.91, but I think I got them from Office Depot or Staples for about the same cost.  Unless you’re really ambitious though, you’ll have plenty of leftover cards for other projects, so the cost really isn’t that much.  What’s really cool about this product though, is you can download a template for Microsoft Word right from the Avery website.

So I then went about thinking up coupon ideas.  Coupons for your husband are very different from coupons for your Mom, so I had to think up a lot of new ideas.  I decided to keep things clean, although a more racy coupon book might have been fun too!  I tried to think of things that my husband would like (massages, date night, etc.) as well as things that he hates doing that I could help with (dishes, taking out the trash, laundry, ironing, etc.).  I came up with 14 total ideas for coupons, but some I printed multiple times (I gave him 3 back massage coupons, for example).

  • One Load of Laundry
  • Ironing
  • Washing Dishes
  • One Back Massage
  • One Foot Massage
  • One Car Wash
  • Breakfast-in-Bed
  • Being the Designated Driver
  • Guinness Cupcakes (had to share the link for this recipe – it’s amazing!!)
  • Taking out the Trash
  • One Movie Date Night
  • One Date Night
  • One Household Chore
  • One Weekend Dog Walk

All of these items had further qualifiers, such as the back massage is good for up to 30 minutes, and the ironing is good for up to 3 garments.  I didn’t want him taking too much advantage of these!! 😉

I first created a design that I liked, just using one of the basic starburst shapes in Microsoft.  I then found a clip-art image that represented each coupon and placed that image in the background (I faded it, so that you could still read the coupon text).  Finally, I wrote in what each coupon was for.  Here’s an example of the design for the ironing coupon:

I also created a design for the front of the coupon book (and printed a plain red business card for the back of the book as well):

Finally, I printed these all out on my home inkjet printer, punched a hole in the top left corner of each, and made them into a booklet using a leftover small key ring that was just sitting loose in our key drawer.  And viola!  An almost free gift, that my husband absolutely adored.  He went through the coupons faster than you can even imagine.  My hands were definitely tired of giving massages the couple weeks after Christmas!!

2 responses

  1. If your hose is too short, or you want a longer power cable, you can probably get replacements, rather than having to buy a new cleaner.
    Also, upright vacuum cleaners area less expensive and are much easier to store.
    For bagless vacuum machines, check the compartment where dust is stored.

  2. Today while the main format of the bricks are the same, Lego has turned the product from a simple toy to versatile sets that can be mixed together to create stunning designs.

    In 1947, together with his son Godtfred, Kristiansen obtained samples of interlocking plastic bricks produced by Kiddicraft.

    It is also a must to have a player and star wars disc, right size
    of projector screen for the venue, multimedia projector, and remember also, do not forget good ventilation.

Leave a Reply

