1st Anniversary Gift – Runner-Up

Last week I shared the first anniversary photo collage I created for the Pinterest Challenge.  Before creating the collage, I actually created a different “paper” gift, based on some items I had seen on Etsy (from Joanna Ramage Photography & Design, Art & Photography of Derek Cooper, and Diana Plauche Photography):

     

I thought I could easily make a similar collage with my last name and our wedding date.  And again, what powerful design tool did I use?  Yep, you guessed it, Powerpoint.  It was as simple as collecting letters and numbers (all found here), inserting them into Powerpoint, making them all the same size, and then lining them up in a grid.

And here is the result:


I chose the colors to go with the accent colors in our living room, since I figured that’s where we’d display it – they weren’t chosen as a reflection of our wedding colors (although our wedding colors were sage green and chocolate brown, so not too far off).  I’m pretty happy with how it came out, but it just didn’t speak to me like the photo collage idea did.  I also felt bad giving a gift that I literally spent 15 minutes creating.  I don’t know why, but that made it feel cheap.  Even though my hubs wouldn’t have known!  I thought afterwards that it would have been more meaningful to use letters and numbers from around our house or our town, but being the procrastinator that I am, I definitely would not have had time to pull this together!  Don’t tell my husband, but I made the photo collage the day before our anniversary.

Anyhow, maybe I’ll hold on to this for a future anniversary.  Or just print it and frame it for fun one of these days.

One response

Leave a Reply

